Skateboarding

Skateboarding is an action sport which involves riding and performing tricks using a skateboard. Skateboarding can be a recreational activity, an art form, a job, or a method of transportation. Skateboarding has been shaped and influenced by many skateboarders throughout the years. A 2002 report found that there were 18.5 million skateboarders in the world. 85 percent of skateboarders polled who had used a board in the last year were under the age of 18, and 74 percent were male.” – Wikipedia

Skateboard. I am never going to do skateboarding.. I mean it’s useless. It’s hard and it can hurt you, only guys can do such thing.. ( well not really ). That’s what I said… BEFORE! But now.. just last saturday I thought of giving it a try! I texted my friend who do skateboard if he can teach me how to skateboard. hahaha. Maybe we’ll start this week. But honestly it started with Moonleaf Teashop.. since his house is near it’s Maginhawa branch I asked him if he could come with me and then we talked about skateboard. HAH! Since then I can’t stop thinking about it.

I mean seeing those cute skateboards with different designs really attracts me! Anything but cute will do.

I really serious about this. I feel like learning another skill.. or hobby. Rather than playing the piano & guitar. I just want to go outside and do something. I know there is alot of consequences! Like.. hitting your head , kneed, elbow or every part of your body. My friend also told me that I need to ask my parents about this.. It really made me nervous because obviously when “I” or “we” do something we always ask permission but he still insist on saying it because of what may happen. Let’s just go to the bright side. I don’t know much about skateboards. Like trucks, bearing, wheels.. just a few stuffs I hear from my friends.

I asked my friends about skateboard and it’s stuff.. And they told me that each skateboard “board only” costs about 2k and above.. 1k to be the cheapest. I was kinda surprised cause I thought it came with a set. But it’s not! You still need to buy wheels, trucks, bearings etc.. which also costs almost a thousand each.

Le wheels.. so cute!!!

Trucks.. this is where you attach the wheels.

Courtesy of Melrose boardshop

Too lazy to put more pics.I am really exited to try out the basics on saturday! I’ll tell you all about it. :D So I want to hear you guys about your thoughts in skating.. Does anyone from you here skate? It would really help! Thank you.

 

Sk8er girl

~Diana

2 thoughts on “Skateboarding

Leave a Reply

