The Hunger Games : Movie Review

” The Hunger Games is a young adult novel written by Suzanne Collins. It was first published on September 14, 2008, by Scholastic, in hardcover. It is written in the voice of sixteen-year-oldKatniss Everdeen, who lives in a post-apocalyptic world in the country of Panem where the countries of North America once existed. The Capitol, a highly advanced metropolis, holds absolute power over the rest of the nation. The Hunger Games are an annual event in which one boy and one girl aged 12 to 18 from each of the 12 districts surrounding the Capitol are selected by lottery to compete in a televised battle in which only one person can survive. ”

 Ever since The Hunger Games craze began viral in the net I can’t help thinking what is Hunger Games. It is written by Suzanne Collins and I promised myself that before I watched a movie based on  a book , I will read the book first. What happened is that I got to watch the movie first than to read it’s book. My first look at the poster i thought that the story revolves around a bird that they try to catch and they fight and so on, so forth. But obviously it’s not! 3 days before it’s premiere I heard alot from our school that they’re gonna watch THG. March 21, 2012 is it’s premiere here in the Philippines, France, Belgium & Netherlands and March 23 for others. Which is really unusual! So I asked one of my classmates what is it all about.
The story revolves around 12 districts. Every year they need to present a teenage boy & girl ages 12 -18 by a raffle. This year Katniss Everdeen volunteered to be the tribute since she don’t want her sister to be the representative ( originally the tribute ). For the boys, Peeta is the chosen one. Until they were sent to Capitol and trained, impressed to have many sponsors etc. Okay, so I am not going to tell you the whole story! I am just so glad that i watched the trailer the night before i watched it coz’ if not.. I will be sleeping in the cinema. Without any idea what i am watching.
When I went inside the cinema I am just so exited.. I don’t know why. Maybe because others were exited too? Hmm. The movie really showed the estate of each district, which I really like. District 12, it’s where Katniss(played by Jennifer Lawrence) originated is one of the poorest district. They manage to shot it in a place which is the weather is raining, dark, homeless kids etc. They also chose the perfect character for Katniss’s sister , Primrose Everdeen (Willow Shields).
She really looked helpless and she did her best in portraying Primrose.
Moving on… the people in Capitol is so… fashionable?
The first time I saw the peeps from Capitol made me think on how powerful they were. I really don’t like them though.
They serve as sponsors.. which I really think is.. they’re really “kuripot” HAHA JOKE!
Until the big came… Katniss showed off a one hot body. Who says that her body didn’t fit the role? I think she’s hot not fat.
Le interview
Going on to the forest fight “the hunger games”. Each tribute showed their skills.
Ignore the Twilight ad. The first tribute that I noticed is the one on left “Isabelle Furhman” as Clove. We already seen her in the movie “Orphan”. I was actually startled that most of her roles got to do with killings.
District 11 is one of my favorite districts. Rue is really a good actress. At a very young age.. she played an innocent girl, helped Katniss.. until she died :(. Huhuhuh.
Okay.. Overall,  I LIKE THE MOVIE SO MUCH! That’s why i already watched it two times in the same cinema. HAHAHA k.
May the odds…ever be in my favor.
~Diana
Leave a Reply

